Our mission is to create and disseminate knowledge though undergraduate instruction, graduate training, research, and community outreach. For our undergraduates, we offer a diverse set of courses spanning American politics, constitutional development, public policy, foreign affairs, strategic studies, and comparative politics. While some specialized courses have immediate utility in practical settings—and we offer opportunities to link academic study with internships and study abroad—the undergraduate mission of the Department is to impart the knowledge and intellectual skills that enrich lives, careers, and active citizenship.

Graduate study takes place in both small seminars and through faculty mentorship and is designed to produce new generations of scholars and teachers who create and disseminate knowledge. The diversity of the substantive focus of the faculty, theoretical orientations, and methodological skills provides a rich educational experience that maximizes the opportunity for our MAs and PhDs to make distinctive contributions in their fields.

We have an award-winning faculty—in both teaching and research—who are standout scholars in their fields. Our students learn directly from the people who create the knowledge and insights about politics through their research. This first-hand information puts our students into cutting-edge classes; there simply is no better way to receive a university education.

Welcome to Mizzou!

Cooper Drury, Department Chair

Senator Claire McCaskill with Fares Akremi, inaugural recipient of the Betty Anne McCaskill Scholarship


William Horner won the 2013 Kemper Award

William Horner

Justin Dyer speech at the December 2012 Commencement

Department of Political Science Video

Professional Building

Contact Us Department of Political Science

Address: 113 Professional Building, Columbia, MO 65211-6030
Phone: 573-882-2843
FAX: 573-884-5131
E-mail: PoliticalScience@missouri.edu
Map and Directions