2019 Graduate Award Recipients

                  Graduate Award Recipients

In May, the department held our annual awards reception, honoring our undergraduate and graduate student scholarship winners.


Undergraduate Scholarship Winners

William L. Bradshaw Scholarship
Riley Messer

Jeffrey D. Byrne Scholarship
Mary Claire Schallenberg

J.G. Heinberg Scholarship
Sarah Cox
Rachel Hehr
Andrew Huber

Kalleberg Family Memorial Scholarship
Natalie Sales

Ed Goldring

Edward Goldring, doctoral candidate in Political Science, has been awarded a 2019-20 US-Asia Grand Strategy Fellowship at the University of Southern California’s Korean Studies Institute.

Goldring will be studying under David Kang, working on his dissertation on the causes of elite purges in dictatorships, which includes an individual-level analysis of elite purges in North Korea under Kim Jong Un.

Michael Smith, Jake Haselswerdt, Nicole Foster Shoaf, Moises Arce, Kevin Anderson, Nisha Bellinger, Marvin Overby, Fares Akremi

Michael Smith, Jake Haselswerdt, Nicole Foster Shoaf, Moises Arce, Kevin Anderson, Nisha Bellinger, Marvin Overby, Fares Akremi

An alumni reception was held at MPSA in April for alumni, faculty, and graduate students. 



Cooper Drury

Congratulations to College of Arts and Science Senior Associate Dean Cooper Drury, recognized as the Foreign Policy Analysis (FPA) Distinguished Scholar of 2019 by the International Studies Association (ISA). 

Marvin Overby

Congratulations to Marvin Overby, the recipient of the 2019 Gold Chalk Award presented by the Graduate Professional Council.

The Gold Chalk Award recognizes MU faculty who have made significant contributions to the education and training of graduate and professional students.

Jacey Schank

Jacey Schank (BA, '19) is the recipient of the Mizzou ’39 award. The Mizzou Alumni Association Student Board awards 39 outstanding seniors each year based on their academic achievement, leadership and service to Mizzou and the community.



A special issue of the Journal of Health Politics, Policy and Law focusing on Health and Political Participation is now published online ahead of print:

Sourcebook of United States Executive Agencies

The Administrative Conference of the United States recently released Sourcebook of United States Executive Agencies (Second Edition) by Jennifer L. Selin and David E. Lewis, available for download from their website.

Overby Capitol Lecture

Join the Capitol Visitor Center and the U.S. Capitol Historical Society for a discussion with Marvin Overby to explore the rise of voluntary departures over time to eclipse electoral defeats as the primary source of Senate turnover.

View the presentation


Major Garrett

Major Garrett, a 1984 MU graduate with bachelor’s degrees in journalism and political science and chief White House correspondent for CBS News, discussed his recently published book, “Mr. Trump’s Wild Ride,” at an event hosted by Pi Sigma Apha, MU’s Political Science Honor Society.

Missourian article