Michael Hendricks

Congratulations to three of our PhD candidates on their recent hires!

Michael Hendricks will be an assistant professor in the Department of Politics and Government at Illinois State University.

Joshua Holzer will be an assistant professor at Westminster College.

Tiffanesha Williams will be a post-doctoral fellow in the Department of Government at American University.


Heather Ba

The University of Missouri Department of Political Science is pleased to announce that Heather Ba has joined our faculty.

Ba completed her doctorate in political science at the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill and was a postdoctoral fellow at the White House Transition Project from 2017 to 2018. Her research takes a historical and quantitative approach to studying the international systemic determinants of financial crises, the international politics of credit, the theoretical determinants of U.S. foreign policy, and the executive management of foreign policy crises.

Peverill Squire

Congratulations to Peverill Squire, recipient of the APSA State Politics and Policy Section Career Achievement Award. Squire received the award at the 2018 State Politics Conference in June. 

Marvin Overby

The John W. Kluge Center in the Library of Congress has announced its newest scholars, who will be in residence during the fall and winter. Among them is MU Professor Marvin Overby, who is working on a book about some of the most significant congressional campaigns in the history of American politics.


Geopolitical Economy

Geopolitical Economy (University of Michigan Press 2018)

New book from Jonathan Krieckhaus and University of Michigan Press, Geopolitical Economy, examines the significance and nature of trade agreements (FTAs), the primary policy tool through which modern nations seek access to international markets and promote economic growth. The book focuses specifically on how South Korea, the world’s leader in the number and significance of FTAs as well as the world’s sixth largest export economy, uses FTAs.

2018 Graduate Award Recipients

                  Graduate Award Recipients

In April, the department held our annual awards reception, honoring our undergraduate and graduate student scholarship winners.


Undergraduate Scholarship Winners

William L. Bradshaw Scholarship
Serena Maxfield

Jeffrey D. Byrne Scholarship
Kaitlyn Sawyer

J.G. Heinberg Scholarship
Alexander Galvin
Sarah Jolley
Mary Grace Newman

Michael A. Kinney Scholarship
Gabriela Martinez

MOST Policy Fellows Program

PhD Candidate Mike Hendricks is co-founder and co-director of the new Missouri Science and Technology Policy Fellows Program.

James Bohnett

Political Science major James Bohnett was in the first class of Kinder Scholars and is currently working on his honors capstone. His achievements in the classroom and on the basketball court were recently featured by MU Student Affairs.

Ed Goldring

Ed Goldring in Seoul, South Korea.

Ed Goldring received a place on the Institute for Far Eastern Studies’ (IFES) summer program in 2017. IFES is a research arm of Kyungnam University in South Korea, whose scholars focus on research relating to peace and unification on the Korean Peninsula. Ed conducted research for two months over the summer in Seoul, including interviews with North Korean defectors, policy, and media professionals.


Dictators and Their Secret Police

Dictators and Their Secret Police (Cambridge, 2016)

Dictators and Their Secret Police by Assistant Professor Sheena Greitens has been named a co-winner of the 2017 Best Book Award from the American Political Science Association Section on Comparative Democratization.  The selection committee was “deeply impressed with the rigor of [the] comparative analysis and the magnitude of [the] book’s theoretical contributions to our understanding of coercive institutions.”  The book was recognized at the September APSA conference in San Francisco.