Undergraduate Program

Program Overview:

Political Science can help you learn to be a better communicator, analyze complicated issues, solve problems, and become a better citizen.

The Department of Political Science offers a wide range of courses and various means of attaining specialization in the field. Political Science courses are divided into four areas of concentration:

  • American Politics/Public Policy
  • Comparative Government
  • International Affairs
  • Political Theory/Methodology

Our graduates pursue careers in

  • law
  • business and finance
  • government and politics
  • public relations, advertising, and journalism
  • lobbying
  • international relations

4+1 Program

Truman School of Public Affairs and the Department of Political Science have teamed up to offer Mizzou students an exciting new opportunity to earn their Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and Master of Public Affairs in just 5 years. 

The newly approved accelerated course of study allows undergraduate political science students who have completed 90 credit hours with a GPA of 3.0 to begin taking masters level classes in year four of their undergraduate studies.  

Because up to 15 graduate level credit hours can be shared between the BA and MPA, students can obtain both degrees by taking normal course loads. 

Students still earn their BA at the end of year four, but then with only one additional year of coursework, they can also earn their Master of Public Affairs. 

The MPA is a professional degree combining rigorous coursework and experiential learning opportunities to prepare students for ethical leadership in the public, private, and nonprofit sectors. 

With a diverse mix of cutting-edge researchers and accomplished practitioners, Truman School faculty provide students with a strong academic foundation as well as valuable insights into the world of public service. 

The innovative curriculum builds knowledge of policy processes and management principles and develops critical thinking and analytical skills, which prepares graduates for distinguished careers in a wide variety of sectors.  

For example, our graduates have gone on to serve as city managers, as executive-level state and federal government officials, as leaders of national and regional nonprofit organizations, and as consultants and policy analysts in the public and private sector. Some have served in elected office, and many have even started their own businesses. 

Talk to your academic advisor or contact the Truman School to learn more about how an MPA can help you launch a rewarding career in public service. 


Academic Advisors--

Rebecca Fallon

Political Science and Economics students last names A-K
101 Professional Building

Appointments: To schedule an appointment, please use MU Connect


Kati Abbott

Political Science and Economics students last names L-Z

132 Professional Building


Appointments: To schedule an appointment, please use MU Connect You may use the search function to see her availability and schedule an appointment.