In memoriam: Dr. Dean L. Yarwood

Dr. Dean L. Yarwood

Faculty, staff and students of the MU Department of Political Science were saddened to learn of the recent passing of Dr. Dean Yarwood. Dr. Yarwood served 33 years at MU, teaching public administration in the Political Science Department, from 1967 until his retirement in 2000, with two rotations as department chair. From 1992 to 1995, he was the Frederick A. Middlebush Professor in Political Science.  Dr. Yarwood’s research focused on public administration and American politics.  His work on the role of the bureaucracy in American politics was published in top public administration journals such as Public Administration Review, Administration and Society and the American Review of Public Administration,  In 2004,  he published his book,  When Congress Makes a Joke (Rowman and Littlefield), which focused on how members of Congress use humor to create shared norms and that by studying their stories, we can understand the informal norms within Congress. 

Interim Chair of the Political Science Department, Dr. Lael Keiser, notes, “Dean was an excellent colleague and was very committed to the Political Science Department. He was an excellent mentor to me and other faculty, as well as to students interested in public administration.”  Prior to his retirement, he established the Dean L. Yarwood Political Science Scholarship for graduate and undergraduate political science students with emphasis in public policy and administration or American politics. This scholarship has benefitted numerous students over the years, including most recently, Cody Drolc, who earned his PhD this spring and is now an assistant professor at University of South Carolina; Hanna Brant (PhD 2020); assistant professor at SUNY Geneseo; and Kenneth Bryant (PhD 2017) assistant professor at University of Texas, Tyler. You can read more about Dr. Yarwood’s distinguished life and career in the Columbia Missourian.

If you would like to give in memory of Dr. Dean Yarwood you can make a gift to the scholarship, Dean L. Yarwood Political Science Scholarship Fund, by using MU’s secure “Giving to Mizzou” webpage. Once at this website, please go to “Gift Information” and use the “Gift Instructions” box to write in one of the following: Dean L. Yarwood Political Science Scholarship Fund: In memory of Dr. Dean Yarwood.

American Political Science Association Memoriam