Pic of Osh Bazaar in Bishkek

Osh Bazaar in Bishkek

Study Abroad Takes Students/Faculty/Staff to Kyrgyzstan

Special Forum on the Study of Geography and War

Date: September 9th, 2021

Time: 9:30-2:05 pm

Location: 222B Strickland Hall


Overview of Conference Papers (* denotes virtual presentation)

Notes: all times CST; * virtual presentation


9:30am – 10:15am

Revisiting Violence in Refugee-Hosting Areas*

Beth Elise Whitaker (Professor, University of North Carolina at Charlotte):

Dru Buntin

He thanks Mizzou, Political Science, for helping him along the way

Political Science graduate (BA ’94) Dru Buntin was named director of the Missouri Department of Natural Resources in August 2021, and the Truman School of Government and Public Affairs (TSGPA) couldn’t be more excited.

Photo of Marvin Rogers

Marvin Rogers (1932-2021)

Legacy lives on at Mizzou

Reception Flyer

On April 30, the department held our annual awards reception online via Zoom, honoring our undergraduate and graduate student scholarship winners.


Undergraduate Awards

Dorssom, Kim, Adou

Three University of Missouri Political Science PhD candidates, Donatien Adou, Elizabeth Dorrsom, and Yu Bin Kim, were selected to attend The Institute for Qualitative and MultiMethod Research (IQMR) through Maxwell School of Citizenship & Public Affairs at Syracuse University on fellowship. 

Each year 15 individuals are selected to receive a fellowship to attend the conference. These fellowships receive an average of 13 applications per available spot. 


Dr. Robin Remington

University of Missouri and the Department of Political Science mourns the loss of emeritus professor, Dr. Robin Remington. Dr. Remington was a native of Boston, Massachusetts. She received her M.A. and Ph.D. in Political Science from the University of Indiana.

Rebecca Fallon

Political Science Academic Advisor, Rebecca Fallon, has been named the winner of the Missouri Academic Advising Association Outstanding Academic Advising Award for Primary Role. She will be honored at this year's virtual conference on September 18th. In addition to being honored during the presentation, she will receive a free one-year membership to MACADA.